Presentation Skills 101

Welcome to my first blog! This is my first time ever writing on the internet, so I hope I don’t botch this up; if I do, I hope those of you out there will be relatively kind! So I guess you’re wondering what it is I have to write about. Well, quite honestly, so am I! I started this blog as part of a class project for my Online PR course with Gary Schlee and my hope is that once I am done the course, I won’t be done the blog.

Anyways, so what does an up-and-coming PR student write about? Well looking at some of the great blogs already created by some of my colleagues (and friends) like Rayanne Langdon, Rick Weiss, Megan Ramsay and Miranda McCurlie, I am actually a little worried about whether my random thoughts will be as engaging as theirs! But even if my musings aren’t as prolific, hopefully they will be mildly interesting, and at the very least quite possibly entertaining!

Now for those of you who don’t know me, my name is Joe Chawla and I am on the tail end of completing my post-grad in Corporate Communications and Public Relations at Centennial College. My background (like so many PR professionals) is in journalism, where I was a TV reporter for about 5 years before I realized the lousy hours and over-inflated egos were not for me. I moved here to Toronto with my wife, who was originally from here, and now we are the in midst of having our first child.

So, if you want to know what I am going to write about, besides talking about PR, you’re probably going to hear plenty about life as a new father and living in a city that’s FIVE TIMES LARGER than my hometown of Edmonton, Alberta (which means plenty of posts dedicated to complaining about the lousy drivers here in TO!)

But for the most part, I am going to try and fill this blog with posts about my experiences entering the field of public relations in 2008, and my thoughts on PR in general. So if you like what I write and want to throw in a comment or two, feel free! And if you don’t like what I write, let me know … though I make no guarantees I’ll post what you write.

One Response

  1. Frankly, Joe, I hate what you’re writing.

    Hah, you know I’m kidding, buddy. But, I think it’s great that you mentioned you’re moderating comments. Watch out for angry lurkers!

    You can’t even talk about being from a smal town. Looking past the fact that I grew up in a town with a population of 300, my university was four times bigger than Napanee (where I went to high school). How do you think I feel about Toronto?!

Leave a Reply

