Invasion of the POD people

I got my first IPOD as an engagement gift from my wife back in 2005. It was one of those sporty little 4GB Nanos which could hold up to 1000 songs.

Since getting it, I have maybe used it only about 30 to 40 times. To some that might seem like a lot, but when you think about how often people listen to music on a daily basis, you can see it isn’t that much time.

It’s not that I don’t like the device; I do. Its sleek, it comes in a nice case, and it holds all my favorite songs.

But aside from using it when I head to the gym, I don’t really need to have it around all the time. I have a CD player and radio in my car, I don’t listen to music when I am working or studying (like I need anything else to distract me) and I can’t figure out what else I would want to do with it—barring the times my desire to play solitaire on a really teeny tiny screen kicks up.

But it now seems I have finally found another purpose for my sparingly used engagement present. As part of my Online PR class at Centennial College, I, along with some of my colleagues, are about to create our first podcast.

Now for those of you who don’t know, Centennial’s Corporate Communications and Public Relations program has been getting a lot of press lately, thanks in large part to the cyber savvy of our instructor, Gary Schlee.

A number of PR powerhouses like Joseph Thornley, Martin Waxman, David Jones, Terry Fallis and other movers and shakers in the industry have been watching, waiting and commenting on how the class of 2008 is one of the first to break into the social media realm of PR.

Thanks to this unwavering attention, we students are getting our first run at the social media space in the glaring spotlights of industry watchers and other schools; all eagerly waiting to see if this particular mouse maze will lead to success.

And for the most part, it has. Most of my fellow students are waxing poetic about their PR experiences on blogs, some have started to Twitter, and others are sharing online discussion boards with social media bigwigs like Joel Postman.

Furthermore, by getting our feet wet with projects like podcasting, graphic design and writing for the web, we are also learning the skills that will make us employable for a long time into the future.

So keep tuned into my blog, and those of my colleagues because you’re about to see the CC&PR class of 2008 hit the online airwaves with our own podcasts. And if you’re interested, my friends and I will be interviewing David Jones of Inside PR fame. So, a hearty thanks to him for his help with our project, and keep watching my blog and my friends, Rick Weiss, Alana DaSilva, and Sarah Fimiani, to find out what David has to say!

4 Responses

  1. Hats off to Gary Schlee and all of you social media fans in his class. This is the future of PR and you are helping to shape it…

  2. It’s always good to have a substantive reason to use that iPod. Thanks for giving me a reason (I too haven’t used my iPod much lately as I’m not using public transit that much any more. Having an iPod on the TTC is a must!).

  3. Hi Terry, thanks for the comment! I am glad to hear the work we are doing now is helping to shape our futures, and the future of PR, for the better.

    When I was originally looking at PR programs to get into, the thing that drew me to Centennial was their course on design and graphics.

    In my case, though, timing was everything. I was lucky enough to enter the program at a time when social media was becoming a necessary tool to help communicators engage and interact with their publics.

    Taking this course with Gary has really helped me appreciate the value of social media and the value of Centennials CC&PR program!

  4. Hi Christine, thanks for the comment! You’re absolutely right; finding a new use for those items we normally have for entertainment purposes is a very valuable lesson.

    However, more than that, our program’s foray into getting students to podcast is a huge step in showing us ways to diversify and engage our audiences.

    This makes us better, more effective communicators because we now see that a popular media/music device is more than just something to listen to; its something we can use as a tool to reach our publics. That’s a powerful message.

Leave a Reply

