A new look and a new ‘tude…

As many of you may have noticed–that is if I still have any readers left–I’ve been away for a long time. There are plenty of reasons for my absence; none of them really substantial, but I’ll tell you about them in a little bit. The reason for my return, however, is thanks to my colleague, Megan Ramsay.

I was visiting her blog and noticed her new look … and then I proceeded to read about her new look. That got me thinking that perhaps I should begin writing on my blog again, rather than have it drop off as just another completed school project.

So here I am. And with my return comes a new look (like Megan’s) which I hope is a little cleaner, a little more classy and a lot more mature. I am sure that in due time, you readers who still are around will let me know what you think.

So that said, here are some of the main reasons why I haven’t spent much time posting the goings on in my life on this forum.

1. My son. I am sorry but its true. At the end of a hard day, I would much rather cuddle my five month old son than sit here writing about him. If you saw how cute he was, you would understand.

2. The job hunt. I just recently completed my contract at the Town of Newmarket. My internship with the Town became a temporary contract and that is now over. So, for the past few months–during my internship and the extension–I have spent tons of time trying to find a job. Let’s face it … this blog isn’t going to put food in the mouth of my family (or it might, if my writing happens to catch the eye of some PR agency bigwig … hint hint.)

3. The writing process. I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist, so I usually write my blogs in MS Word, edit them, re-edit them again and then edit them one final time before pasting them into wordpress. After that comes the formatting process, trying to get them to look the way I want in wordpress. It’s a long process and one that quite honestly was beginning to turn me off of blogging. Now, I am just going to write and let the grammatical errors fall where they may.

4. The writing process #2. I tend to be a big verbose, or in other words, I don’t know when to shut up. My last few blogs could all have been contenders for university papers and that much writing can get irritating (not just to read, but to write as well.) So, from now on, I plan to try and write less and get to the point faster. Short and sweet (this blog notwithstanding.)

5. GENERAL LAZINESS. That’s right. I am lazy when it comes blogging. The fact is, I see a ton of different stories and issues that I would love to write about, but it always seems to slip my mind when I get home, thanks to the many other activities that present themselves. I mean, let’s face it, would you rather sit at a computer writing about PR, or sit in front of the couch watching So You Think You Can Dance and secretly hoping that the hot brunette and blond don’t get voted off in today’s show. Ah, I see you share my values. Excellent!

(Update – 6. I forgot this reason, but its just as important. Writing about non-PR related stuff. Lets face it, my life doesn’t completely revolve around PR, so having a blog that focuses just on that limits my creative freedom. With my new look, I plan on writing about more than just PR. Hopefully, it will lead to some more interesting discussions and definitely some more interesting posts!)

Well, that’s it. Those are my reasons for not writing on War of the Words. But, like my new look, I hope my new ‘tude towards my blog won’t wane and that I can start making up for some lost time. So for those of you who have left me, COME BACK! COME BACK! And for those of you who just met me, DON’T GO! DON’T GO! Otherwise … enjoy, leave me your comments, and don’t be a hater! Peace!

P.S. Corporate Communications Class of 2007/2008 … I miss you guys!

8 Responses

  1. Joe! good to have you back! The new look is nice, but you have one thing to fix. That Playing Games with PR over on the blogroll needs to be replaced with rickweiss.ca 🙂

    Otherwise, I know what you mean about laziness. It’s not even laziness per-se, it’s prioritization. I, like you, have so many ideas for blog posts. By the time I get home (often after 9pm) I have no desire to sit and write a well conceived message. So, I write a bunch of 140 character messages on twitter.

    You’re married, you have a baby – we get it, blogging isn’t your biggest priority. So when you say “I’d rather sit on the couch” I’m sure you’re doing a lot more than that.

  2. Welcome back!
    I saw your boy and agree – he’s super cute.
    Let us know how the job search goes.
    You’ll do great!

  3. Hey Rick! Good to hear from you too. It’s nice to be back … provided I don’t go on hiatus again! As for your comment, its true. Laziness is not my only reason for not writing, but aside from my son, none of my other reasons really hold up. That’s why I plan on trying harder to write at least once every couple of weeks from now on. Can’t keep those skills fresh if you aren’t using them! Oh, and Playing games with PR is now rickweiss.ca.

  4. Hey Paul. Thanks! I will post on this site a bit about the trials of job hunting. Hopefully you guys will be able to either give me some insight, commiserate with me, or tell me what led you to success.

  5. Joe! Man, if your pic doesn’t drive the crowds to this blog, I don’t know what will. The job hunt is tough– I was lucky enough to stay with my internship AND live in a less competitive PR graduate market. Keep ya’ head up and throw out as many resume’s as you can. I’ve also found that a targeted email (as opposed to a general template) elicits a great response. You’re a talented and charismatic guy, it’s only a matter of time before you’re recognized for it.
    Keep in touch– PR Ninja is still alive and well!

  6. Joe!! So glad I was able to inspire a change! I love the new look and am excited that your blog is up and running again. I look forward to reading in the furture.

    Miss you buddy – say hi to the little guy.

  7. Hey Brandon. Thanks for the props. I’m sure the job hunt will yield something for me, so I’m not worried. Its just the frustration of getting out there and going through the motions. Sometimes, you just want a little luck to hit you squarely on the bottom! LOL! How’s Juice?

  8. Hey Megan, THANK YOU for the change. I’m glad to see you still on the blog circuit. How’s things going over at H&K?

Leave a Reply

