My big phat Indian wedding…

My sister-in-law got married this past weekend. It was a pretty lavish affair with close to 500 people coming out to celebrate her marriage.

Prior to the big day however, there was tons of things going on in preparation for her nuptials. For the past week, my wife and I have helped setup and attend numerous traditional and religious ceremonies called pujas, celebratory dinners or get-togethers and various other events with family and friends. All in all, we’re pretty exhausted.

Most Indian weddings are like this. For my own wedding, the events began a week before our marriage with my wife having to go it alone at most of the religious and traditional ceremonies (I was still in Alberta until about 3 days before my wedding day.)

Then on the day of our wedding, I was up at the crack of dawn to start getting ready. My wife, on the other hand, had been up since 3:00 a.m. She had had to get her hair and makeup done and then get dressed in her traditional Indian wedding outfit, called a langa.

Our marriage alone took over 1.5 hours, with about 300 people packing our church to see us get married. Right after that we were whisked away to perform a few more traditional ceremonies (one called a doli which symbolizes my wife leaving her parents house for mine) before finally hitting our hotel.

Then my wife had her hair and makeup lady arrive at about 4:00 p.m. to get her ready for the reception. This also included changing into another langa, different from the morning one. From the hotel we went to take pictures and then arrived at the hall at about 7:30p.m. where close to 600 people had come out to help us celebrate.

But our day didn’t end there. We had booked our honeymoon flight for 6:00 a.m. the next morning, so we had to leave our reception, check out of our hotel and then hit the airport where we took a 14 hour flight to Aruba.

Altogether it was over 24 hours before we finally managed to get some sleep.

Though this likely wasn’t the same schedule my sister-in-law went through, I have no doubt that the various events, ceremonies and get-togethers that made it such an exhausting week for us, probably tired them out even more.

But it was all worth it. The wedding went off without a hitch, my sister-in-law looked beautiful and we partied hard enough to justify all the time, expense and exhaustion the wedding cost us. If any of you have any Indian friends who are getting married and you get an invite, I encourage you to attend. You won’t be disappointed.

Now I am going to go take another nap.

Leave a Reply

